I Can See Clearly Now…

I’m getting organized this month!  I’m a little behind since I wanted to start in January but Time Management wasn’t on my to do list until April! (couldn’t resist)

While I LOVE my new Circle Scissor, one of my “grrrrrrs” was not being able to see the itty bitty numbers on the ruler.  Now it’s great! Here is my fix:

Video:

I took 2 return address labels and stuck them under the ruler.  It does not interfere with the adjusting of the sizes!

feb-9-002

I have been putting the address labels on the inside of the stamp sets where the name of the set sticker is.  Now I can read them while they are on the shelf and find them easily!

feb-9-003

Hope you are having fun ‘sale-a-brating’!   Who doesn’t love free stamps?!

Linda

This entry was posted in Organization: Grrrrr to Great! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I Can See Clearly Now…

  1. Charlene H. says:

    What a great idea! I would never have thought of that. Why do you have the numbers (401, 413) on your stamp cases?

  2. Tonya says:

    You are a genius! I don’t have the cutter yet, but when I do get it — I will definitely do this trick.

    Also the labels on the box — great! I just taped a copy paper strip behind it. I think I’ll switch to the labels!

    Thanks so much!

  3. Sue Kment says:

    I’ve just had a “duh” moment LOL!

  4. Lisa Brown says:

    Wow! so simple and so cool! Thanks!

  5. OH MY GOODNESS LINDA!!!!! The numbers on the Circle Scissor Plus have beed driving me CRAZY!!! You are a total GENIUS!! Thank you so much for coming up with this awesome idea!! ALSO, doing the same for the stamp sets…can I just say WOW!! I’ve been using a P-Touch Labeler to re-label my sets so I can read them better. You’re idea is going to save me a lot of money!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!
    Lorraine

  6. Sue O. says:

    What do your numbers mean on your sets? I’m fairly new to stamping, but I have a ton of stuff to organize cuz I’ve been a collector up until this point. LOL I need all the help I can get with a decent way to organize everything. Thanks for the awesome tip of putting a label behind the name of the sets.

  7. LisaC says:

    I hated that the numbers were so hard to read and kept putting a piece of white paper underneath each time to see better. Never thought to put something there permanently!! Thanks for the idea!

  8. Renee O. says:

    Linda, these are such great tips and just put those labels on my circle cutter. Great, great tip. I will also be putting the labels on my stamp sets. The old eyes ain’t what they use to be. *wink* Thanks again for the awesome tips.

  9. kay lawton says:

    thanks, that is a GREAT idea on both things. Now can you figure out a way to crasp the turn knob on the cutter, some of us have trouble crasping that wheel, in fact yesterday at a show two ladies said they won’t purchase it because of the turning knob.

  10. Mary Campbell says:

    Thanks for sharing two great ideas! I am going to use them both. My eyes are getting older and they need all the help they can get. Thanks again. Mary

  11. kay lawton says:

    Linda on your list of responses my name and Mary Campbell are mixed up on what we wrote. I don’t know if this matters to you or not. I just thought I would bring it to yur attention

  12. Diana Gibbs says:

    Hi Linda,
    I have done this for years, cause it is so hard to see…what I do is actually stick the clear label on the white address label, then stick that to the box. I think the labels I use are 2150 size.

    Great idea on the circle scissor!! Genius!!!

    Keep up the great work and I hope to see you in Hawaii!

    Hugs, Di

  13. RobinK-NC says:

    Beat ya to the white label under the set index….maybe I’m older that you….lol

  14. PJ says:

    Now if we could just figure out a way to emphasize the sizes on measuring spoons and cups!!

  15. Neppie says:

    Thanks so much for the tips. Here’s one I have found helpful. You know how sometimes the stamps flip or turn upside down in the box? Well I have started stamping all the images on a piece of white copy paper when I mount them and tape it to the inside of the box. Then, when I go to get a stamp set I can see all the images without turning the box every which way. Just a tip.

  16. Thanks for the great tip! Easy fix for the measuring cups. If they’re plastic (like tupperware) I use black permanent marker as a highlight on the popped up plastic measures.

  17. Susan from Colorado says:

    Linda, Your ideas have changed my life for the better! How grateful I am that you are so clever and you share them with all us stamp crazed women!

  18. Willow says:

    Honestly!! I sure hope you are getting the big bucks because you sure deserve them!!! I was so upset that I couldn’t see those silly inch increments (I could see the centimeters easier) that I decided It was not an effective tool for me and Lo and Behold…I can see clearly now!!!! Thanks so much!!

  19. Debbie says:

    I like all of the others really like the tips. I am wondering if you have a demo video for the circle scissor. I am thinking about getting one but would like to see them in action befor I decide.
    Thank you for your great blog, I enjoy it very much.

    Debbie

  20. Jenn Brown says:

    Genius, Linda! Thanks for sharing! I’ll be passing this info on.

  21. Nicole E Williams says:

    Great idea Linda! Those numbers are very hard to read. I use personalized address labels inside my stamp sets to highlight the name and to also mark the stamp set as mine! I get plenty of freebies so I use those

  22. Linda, great tip for the circle scissor. Two ideas for stamp sets: xerox the label sheet BEFORE placing the labels onto the wood blocks (lots of my stampers keep a copy in a notebook for handy reference) and don’t take the label for the stamp set off the backing, just cut the clear and the white backing together, into a strip and use your Mono Adhesive or tape to stick it to the inside of the stamp set box. It already has a white backing, so you wouldn’t have to use an address sticker.

  23. Mary says:

    Awesome ideas, Linda! Thanks for sharing.

  24. Louise says:

    Thanks for having such fantastic videos. I recently joined your stamping school, I love it.

  25. Louise says:

    Thanks for having such fantastic videos. I recently joined your stamping school, I love it. I am hoping we get these circle scissors over here soon

  26. Ann says:

    Genius!
    Stampin’ Smiles from Ear to Ear,
    Ann 🙂

  27. Kathy says:

    Gosh, what a great idea! Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a public comment here or email me at linda@stampingschool.com to reach me directly!

